Book Review: The Demonic by Lee Mountford

Title: The Demonic: A Supernatural Horror Novel

Author: Lee Mountford

Genre: Horror

Stand alone or series: stand alone

Years ago a young girl ran away from her childhood home and vowed never to go back. It was a place of fear, pain and misery at the hands of an abusive father.

But now her father is dead, and she is forced to break that vow and return home—to lay his body to rest and face up to the ghosts of her past.

However, Danni is about to learn that some ghosts are more real than others.

Something beyond her understanding waits for her there, lurking in the shadows. An evil that intends to kill her family and claim her very soul.


Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Publication date: August 4, 2017
272 pages

Format (e- or p-): audiobook
Running Time: 7 h 44 min

Review

How did I found this audiobook to listen
This one was requested for a review. Honestly, I didn’t expect they accept a request, but when I received it I was on cloud nine. Horror as a genre is one of my favorites, that’s why I chose it for a review. And I don’t regret.

For you to know: I have read only a few Stephen Kings books, stories, actually, and didn’t like them at all. I don’t understand why does everyone like his works. However, I like Supernatural TV-show, horror, demons, poltergeist, paranormal and other stuff, no matter on TV it or it’s a novel.

***** Everything below may contain SPOILERS *****

Plot

Experience supernatural horror in the vein of THE CONJURING, INSIDIOUS and the legendary GHOSTWATCH. THE DEMONIC will get under your skin, send chills down your spine and have you sleeping with the lights on!

What can you expect from the horror book with such a blurb? Haunted house, scary moments, some freak characters, a long dark story from past, and a creepy creature from astral – these I was expecting in the beginning. Thankfully, I got everything.

Family – father Jon, mother Danni, daughter Leah, son Alex – came to the old Danni’s house to bury her father. In the house, they were waited by some dark, cruel creature. This thing didn’t waste its time and started to terrorize them as soon as they arrived. In two days their lovely family was ruined to the ground.

I was bored for some time. We have a long start before the action started, but then all became in a high-speed movie. I can’t say that the plot is gripping, maybe because I’m so spoiled by many horror movies, but I like pictures that Lee has drawn in this book: pictures of the dead people, that thing, brave but scared children, lonely little town.

Characters

Commonplace. Well, for such a book it’s totally okay, but don’t expect something unusual. They look like the typical family from any The Amityville Horror movie series. Nothing special.

Environment

Even though this book is based on a true story, it feels empty and lonely. Like if the whole surrounding world vanished and nothing left. In our focus only this poor family. Common.

Aftertaste / Summary

I don’t have too much to tell about this book. It was well enough; I was listening to it during the work time, sometimes it was, as I said, dull, sometimes it was very interesting. Until the very end, I was sure about the rating and my review, but the end changed my opinion about the book. In the end, everything happened so quickly, and there were plenty of unexpected moments. I satisfied.

The Demonic is one of the good new horror books for adults to read. At least, it worth listening time.

About Narration

Hannibal Hills is a narrator of this book. I like how he managed to create a voice of a dark creature very much. That was chilling! The narration is clear, no problem with separating the characters. Good work!

Rating: 4 – Good

Buy the Book: Amazon, Audible

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: